Trademark scam.
FYI. There’s a “trademark scam” going around! I received an email from one of these scammers this morning and this is what it looks like:
Dear Manager: We are the Domain Name registration organization in China. which is a professional Internet Domain Name Registration and dispute resolution organization in China. Here, we have something important to confirm with your company .On Oct.30,2009,We received an formal application ,one company named “Meihua Group” wants to register “baileydoesntbarkm “as CHINA .ASIA domain names (like .cn/.com.cn/.Asia )and the Internet Trademark ” baileydoesntbarkm” on the Internet. But after auditing, we found the brand name has been used by your company. As the domain name registrar in China, it is our duty to notice you,so I send you this Email to check. According to the principle in China,your company is the owner of the trademark,during our auditing time,we can keep the domain names safe for you firstly, but our audit period is limited, If you object the application and need to protect the brand in China and Asia by yourself,please let the responsible officer contact us soon as possible. Thank you! Looking forward to hearing your reply! Kind regards Mike Zhou Checking department ——————————- YIGUAN IT Co., Ltd Room 1303-1305, NO.2 KaiTuoBuilding, West ZhongShan Road 1878, XuHui District,Shanghai China. Tel: 0086-021-6296 2950 Fax:0086-021-6296 1557 Mail: mike@webregistry.org.cn Web: www.webregistry.org.cn

November 26th, 2009 at 2:06 PM
We just received the exact same letter but from “Alice” not Mike. Good to know it’s just spam! Argh!